UMW Awards Emeritus Status at May 12 Commencement

Ernest Ackermann

Four longtime professors and a veteran administrator were awarded emeritus status at the University of Mary Washington’s undergraduate commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 12. Ernest Ackermann was named Professor Emeritus of Computer Science; Edward Hegmann was named Director of Athletics and Professor of Athletics, Health, and Physical Education Emeritus; David MacEwen was named Professor Emeritus of Psychology; Stephen Watkins was named Professor Emeritus of English; and Marsha Zaidman was named Associate Professor Emerita of Computer Science. The title of emeritus is bestowed on faculty members who have served the university for at least 15 years and who have attained the rank of professor or associate professor. Ernest Ackermann Ernest Ackermann joined the UMW faculty in 1980 as the university’s first professor of computer science. He was instrumental in establishing the university’s online presence and developing the computer science curriculum, and served as chair of … [Read more...]