UMW Computer Science Professor Receives Service Award

Fredericksburg, Va. – Ernie Ackermann, professor of computer science at the University of Mary Washington, has been recognized with the J. Christopher Bill Outstanding Faculty Service Award for his contributions to the university as well as involvement and leadership in the community.

Ackermann, who joined UMW in 1980, was Mary Washington’s first director of academic computing and has been instrumental in establishing the university’s online presence. He has been chairperson of the computer science department.

Ackermann has presented numerous workshops on the use of the Internet to students, faculty and other professional organizations. His tutorials and Web pages are referenced from websites throughout the world, and he has written several books on Unix, the Internet and the World Wide Web. His textbooks are used by several hundred schools, colleges and universities. In addition to his computer science work, Ackermann has served as chair of the University Faculty Council, faculty representative to the Board of Visitors and president of the College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Senate. He is on the board of directors for the Fredericksburg chapter of Mental Health America and on the Stafford Zoning Appeals Board.

“He has a special ability to bring differing sides together in civil discourse to find common ground, steering the conversation, examining all facets of the arguments, and arriving at a solution that all find acceptable,” Provost Jay Harper said.

A 1967 alumnus of Montclair State College in New Jersey Ackermann received master’s and doctoral degrees from Pennsylvania State University.

An endowment that funds the service award was established through the generosity of the former students, colleagues, friends and family of the late Christopher Bill, professor of psychology. The award recognizes Bill’s extraordinary service as a member of the UMW teaching faculty from 1972 to 2001. Bill died in December 2001.

The selection criteria for the award stipulates that the recipient must have served a minimum of seven years as a member of the Mary Washington teaching faculty and must have been heavily and consistently involved in a variety of service capacities, including departmental, university-wide and community service. Nominations may be submitted by any member of the teaching faculty, staff or student body of the university.

About Brynn Boyer

Brynn Boyer is assistant director of media and public relations and a 2010 graduate of UMW.