Student Researchers Showcase Work at Summer Symposium

Yoshi Takeda, shown on the Fredericksburg Canal, is one of 22 students who will participate in the Summer Science Institute Symposium on July 25.

More than 20 UMW students presented their research during the Summer Science Institute’s Symposium on Wednesday, July 25. Eleven students gave 20-minute oral presentations throughout the day and another 11 students displayed poster presentations.

UMW’s Summer Science Institute, a 10-week undergraduate research program, started in 1999. This year’s projects are collaborations between the students and professors Dianne Baker, Theresa Grana, Werner Wieland, Janet Asper, Nicole Crowder, Stephen Davies, Jennifer Polack-Wahl, Ben Kisila, Melanie Szulczewski, Charles Whipkey, Julian Esunge, Leo Lee and Hai Nguyen.

The tentative schedule is as follows:

9 – 9:20 a.m. Elyse Clark, “Comparative Analysis of the Environmental Evolution of Two Reservoirs in Virginia”

9:20 – 9:40 a.m. Yoshi Takeda, “Turtles in the Fredericksburg Canal: Identifying and Estimating Populations Sizes”

9:40 – 10 a.m. Eric Johnson, “Modifying Copper Oxide with Azide-Terminated Phosphonic Acids: Toward Creating a Universal Platform for Surface Functionalization via Click Chemistry”

10 – 10:20 a.m. BREAK

10:20 – 10:40 a.m. Michael Crawford, “Development of an agent-based ecological model of the rare Virginia plant, Aeschynomene virginica

10:40 – 11 a.m. KB Brobbey, “Stochastic Programming with Optimization”

11 – 11:20 a.m. Morgan Brown, “How to Win Every Time”

11:20 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. LUNCH

12:30 – 1 p.m. Posters

1 – 1:20 p.m. Dan Browne, “An Expansion of Nematode Phylogeny”

1:20 – 1:40 p.m. Sarah Eubanks, “The Effect of Food Deprivation on the Appetite Regulating Neuropeptides in Zebrafish, Danio rerio

1:40 – 2 p.m. Robert Higgins, “Pegylation of Guanyl Pyrazole to Provide a Guanidinylation Reagent”

2 – 2:20 p.m. BREAK

2:20 – 2:40 p.m. Sam du Busc, “Education for the 21st Century”

2:40 – 3 p.m. Darren Getts, “Acousto‐Optical Modulation to Enhance a Mach‐Zehnder Interferometer”

3 – 4 p.m. Posters

4:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Students Robert Clark, Lindsay Raulston, Lauren Nelson, Rebecca Brown, Benjamin Tuxbury, Peter Slattery, Susanna Kirschner, Jenna Stockton, Erin Stewart, Karmel James and Sarah Marzec will present posters from 12:30 to 1 p.m. and from 3 to 4 p.m.

The full symposium program is attached.

About Brynn Boyer

Brynn Boyer is assistant director of media and public relations and a 2010 graduate of UMW.